Home Feature news How to edit, delete, and restore a Facebook post

How to edit, delete, and restore a Facebook post

None of us are perfect, and all of us have published Facebook posts with misspellings, grammatical errors, mistaken “facts,” or opinions that we immediately realized might not need to be aired in public. When that happens, you’re going to want to hop into your post and fix the problem — either by changing it or deleting it altogether. Luckily, it’s really easy — if you know how.

What follows are directions on how to edit a Facebook post, delete it, and restore it on the web and using the mobile app. (I used the Facebook app on a Pixel 6, but the steps will be similar on other phones and on iOS.)

On the web

  • In the post you want to edit, click on the three dots in the upper right of your post.
  • Click on Edit post if you want to change it; make your edits, and then click on Save.
  • Click on Move to trash if you want to delete it, and then click on Move.

Note: when you “delete” a post, you will actually be moving it to a trash section, where it will be finally deleted after 30 days. If you want to restore it or delete it immediately, follow the following steps.

  • Click on your personal icon in the upper right corner
  • Click on Settings & privacy > Activity log
  • In the left-hand column, scroll down to and select Trash
  • Find the post and click its checkbox. Click on Restore to restore it to your timeline, or Delete to permanently delete it.
  • In the resulting pop-up, click on Restore or Delete.

Trash page in Facebook

On a mobile device

  • Tap on the three dots in the upper-right corner of the post
  • Select Edit post if you want to change it; make your edits, and then click on Save.
  • Select Move to trash if you want to delete it, and then click on Move.

Pop-up Facebook menu

Edit Facebook post page

The process of restoring or permanently deleting a post is similar to that on the web.

  • In your timeline, tap on your personal icon in the upper left corner.
  • Tap on the three dots to the right of Edit profile.
  • In your Profile settings, select Activity log > Trash.
  • Select the checkbox of the post you want to restore or delete.

Facebook Activity Log

Archive / Restore / Delete pop-up

  • To restore the post, tap on Restore at the bottom of the screen. To permanently delete it, tap the three dots at the bottom right, and select Delete.
  • Tap Restore or Delete in the pop-up menu.

Most Popular

8 Practical Ways To Improve Employee Performance

Top 8 Ways To Boost Your Employees' Performance In the modern corporate world, it's essential to strengthen one's employees so they can keep up with...

eLearning: A Long Way To Go

Technologies For eLearning: Present Trends eLearning has a long way to go, not in terms of the principles, standards, or the taxonomies it relies on...

How To Cut Your Online Compliance Training Cost Without Compromising Engagement

Insider Secrets To Reduce Online Compliance Training Cost Like other L&D endeavors, online compliance training costs can quickly spiral out of control. Unexpected delays, hidden...

Leadership Blueprint: Building Coalitions

Listen, Seek To Understand, And Collaborate Leadership has transformed over the last few years and will continue to transform as leaders face unprecedented complexity and...